Resolve to Put Your House in Order with Advance Directives

Advance directives are written, legal instructions regarding your preferences for medical care if you are unable to make decisions for yourself.  Advance directives aren't just for older adults. Unexpected end-of-life situations can happen at any age, so it's important for all adults to be prepared with the proper documents.

Download class brochure - Knoxville area

Download class brochure - Greeneville area

Program Objectives

  • Describe the advance directives process.
  • Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of the different types of advance directives.
  • Learn strategies to identify goals, fears and concerns about end-of-life.
  • Develop a basic understanding of the benefits and burdens of treatment options and when to refer to other professionals for guidance.
  • Understand how to select an appropriate healthcare agent.
     

This Advance Directives education class is offered by a partnership between Summit Medical Group and Tennova Healthcare.  

To reserve a seat, please call 1-855-TENNOVA

Class Schedule

Knoxville area

  • Tuesday, January 28, 2015 - 10 am - Physicians Regional Medical Center - Shamrock Room
  • Thursday, February 26, 2015 - 10 am - Turkey Creek Medical Center - Classroom #1
  • Thursday, March 26, 2015 - 10 am - North Knoxville Medical Center - Fitness Center Classroom
  • Thursday, April 23, 2015 - 2 pm - Physicians Regional Medical Center - Shamrock Room
  • Thursday, May 21, 2015 - 2 pm - Turkey Creek Medical Center - Class Room #1
  • Thursday, June 11, 2015 - 2 pm - North Knoxville Medical Center - Fitness Center Classroom

 

Greeneville area (all classes at Laughlin Memorial Hospital, 1420 Tusculum Blvd, Greeneville, Private Dining Room)

  • Tuesday, January 27, 2015 - 3 pm
  • Tuesday, February 24, 2015 - 10 am
  • Tuesday, March 24, 2015 - 3 pm
  • Tuesday, April 28, 2015 - 10 am
  • Tuesday, May 26, 2015 - 3 pm
  • Tuesday, June 23, 2015 - 10 am
  • Tuesday, July 28, 2015 - 3 pm
  • Tuesday, August 25, 2015 - 10 am
  • Tuesday, September 29, 2015 - 3 pm
  • Tuesday, October 27, 2015 - 10 am
  • Tuesday, November 24, 2015 - 3 pm
  • Tuesday, December 22, 2015 - 10 am